About the Fall school

The NOVA Fall school is meant to broaden the knowledge of astronomy graduate students. Courses are taught dealing with topics that were missed during the undergraduate studies. Every graduate student in The Netherlands must participate in a NOVA Fall school at least once; participation in two schools is recommended.

The school is offered annually, at the ASTRON premises in Dwingeloo, during 5 days in the Fall. NOVA Fall schools generally consist of two parallel course streams, which rotate between three topics "Galaxies", "Interstellar medium & Star- and planet formation" and "Compact objects and the late stages of stellar evolution". Each stream consists of a general part and a specialized part. The topics of the latter part are different each year.

The streams are targeted at students who did not have the topic in their undergraduate studies, to broaden their general background in astronomy. PhD students should choose the stream after consultation with their thesis supervisor. All courses are taught in English, and often include practical exercises. Excursions to the Westerbork radio telescope and the Dwingeloo VLBI facilities may also be part of the program. In addition, all participating students are required to make a short oral presentation dealing with their thesis research project, for their fellow students and the lecturers.

Registered Participants (2018)

1. Lydia Stofanova (UL, 2)
2. Youngjoo Kim (RUG, 2)
3. Jiwoo You (RuG, 2)
4. Anqi Li (RuG, 2)
5. Andres Felipe Ramos Padilla (RuG, 1)
6. Xiaoyuan Zhang (UL, 2)
7. Violeta Gamex Rosas (UL, 2)
8. Folkert Nobels (UL, 2)
9. Turgay Caglar (UL, 2)
10. Neli Raycheva (RU, 1)
11. Martijn van Gelder (UL, 2)
12. Vladimir Domcek (UvA, 1)
13. Alexander Cooper (UvA, 1)
14. Martyna Chruslinska (RU, 2)
15. Arkadip Basak (UvA, 1)
16. Ben Sutlieff (UvA, 1)
17. Deepak Eappachen (SR, 1)
18. Pastor Marazuela Ines (UvA, 2)
19. Eva Laplace (UvA, 1)
20. Samira Rezaei (RuG, 1)
21. Hyoyin Gan (RuG, 1)
22. Vatsai Panwar (UvA, 1)
23. Anna de Graff (UL, 2)
24. Ruslan Brilenkov (RuG, 2)
25. Emma van der Wateren (UvA, 1)
26. Patrick Dorval (UL, 1)
27. Niloofar Khorshid (UL, 1)
28. Kenzie Nimmo (Astron, 1)
29. Frank Backs (UvA, 1)
30. Siemens Burssens (KL, 1)
31. Jose Versteeg-Veltkamp (RU, 2)
32. Georg Wilding (RuG, 2)
33. Valentina Peirano Bastlas (RuG, 1)
34. Jakub Klencki (RU, 1)
35. Nick Oberg (RuG, 1)
36. Jonas Bremer (RuG, 2)
37. Nelvy Choque Challapa (RuG, 2)
38. Dirk van Dam (UL, 1)
39. Pavel Mancera (RuG, 2)
40. Andrea Afruni (RuG, 2)
41. Laurent Legrand (RuG, 2)
42. Mantas Zilinskas (UL, 1)
43. Rafael Mostert (UL, 2)
44. Martijn Oei (UL, 2)

Note: In between brackets we indicate the student's affiliation and the stream they applied for. Notice that the distribution per stream is not final. If one stream is oversubscribed, some students will be reassigned to the other stream (upon the consideration of the School Scientific Organiser).

This list is manually updated on a regular basis.

Last updated on 11 Oct 2018 at 10:07